Memories of South Africa

Well, hello there… over a year later.

The last time you heard from me, I was on my Year Abroad at a university in South Africa. Sounds like the prime time to write blog posts, I know. But it turned out to be more difficult than just posting my memories on here every now and then.

South Africa is a beautiful country but there is more to it than just that. It has a complicated history that keeps being written. And not mentioning any of it would have felt wrong at the time, and still does in some way.

I started writing a journal instead. Just for myself – where I could write what I wanted to write without feeling like I had to justify anything. It seemed to me the purest way to remember what I really experienced.

However, I have recently felt the urge to write blog posts again. I decided I would do a series of posts that are memories of my year in South Africa.

Kind of like photos or even postcards, they will just be a glimpse of what I experienced overall. They will not cover my whole experience, but go back to some of my favourite memories from there.

Another thing I did while I was there was taking less pictures than I usually would. Which also sounds ridiculous, but sometimes, the experience of something was more important to me than trying to capture everything about it. I still have memories to look back at, of course, but often they are words rather than pictures. So please bear with me 🙂

Processed with VSCO with k3 preset

Leave a Reply

